Link

As my son gets older, it gets harder to agree on a costume with him.  He, of course, wants to be any character that he can find on the wall of Party City when Halloween season is here.  I, on the other hand, insist that he be unique and that I make the costume so that he stays warm ( so he won’t have to wear a sweater and cover up his costume).  So, any way, getting older, he is very much into videogames and asked me to make a Link costume (from the Legend of Zelda), and I agreed!

Now, I’m not going to lie, it is semi-homemade, but I did have to do quite a lot of sewing, so this was not one of my easier costumes.  But, I think that it came out really great.

I had to score the internet for instructions and visuals, such as this, and this, and this, because to tell you the truth, I wasn’t really sure who Link was! Ha! But for those of you who do know who Link is, the above links are great resources to help complete the Link costume, so check it out, anyway.

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 8.33.25 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 8.32.48 PM

For the Link top, I used a long-sleeved plain white top underneath a green sweatshirt, which I cut up, and added on the chain mail and other adornments.  His hat was made with the extra pieces of the sweatshirt that was left over. His gauntlets were constructed with pleather and with the help of this site.

I then used two inexpensive belts, and a piece of pleather, which I found at Walmart, to make his sword holster.

i-RjVNRgw-LScreen Shot 2015-08-23 at 8.33.53 PM

To top off the costume, I lent him my brown boots – ( it was a good thing that he was almost the same size as me!)

Cool, huh?

Oh, and, just one other thought, someone could totally use this costume for Comic Con!

Leave a comment